HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO SUPER JACKIE WILSHERE

Firstly, I want to wish all my dedicated and esteemed readers a very wonderful new year; of course, there is no break for our stars as they square up against the a manager-less Cardiff City side. The team has been ravaged with injuries and it is unclear what kind of line-up that the Boss would use. Winning the first game of the year would be very important as it would see the gooners maintain their top position and also enter into the New Year with the confidence they finished 2013.

However, this article is not to talk about the importance of the game, but to wish a classic Arsenal player, a very happy birthday. When I was a younger gooner, I was a big fan of Dutchman, Dennis Bergkamp, I loved his style, his creativity, in fact everything about him. Even when I still watch his clips I still have that cool sensation in my head. So when he retired, I felt empty and sad.

Image

I had no other Arsenal player that made me feel the same, until I saw a certain 16 year old demolish a Sheffield United side in the League Cup; he started making his name known, made his league debut, eclipsing Fabregas record as the youngest player to play for Arsenal. Then came the moment of magic, the moment when I finally found my replacement for Bergkamp, the moment when 19 year old Wilshere gave a world-class performance against Xavi, Iniesta and co on February 16, 2011.

Image

He has not looked back since then, was capped for the national side and became a key member of the side. Wenger described him as the next Liam Brady, others called him a similar player to Messi while some likened him to Hleb, but for me for the fact that he replaced Bergkamp in my Arsenal heart, I would liken him to the Dutch star.

Image

Wilshere has not had it all rosy and cool, a persistent ankle injury derailed his progress and missed nearly 2 years in order to correct the problem but class is permanent. This season, he has had a good run of form, scoring the wonder goal against Norwich and the brace in the game against Marseille and seems to have finally overcome his ankle struggles.

What Wilshere brings to the side, no other player does. His drive, commitment and love for the club is unquestionable and unparalled. I remember him crying when Arsenal lost the Carling Cup in 2011 and he alongside Per are always the first players to go to the away fans and appreciate them even giving them his shirt most of the time. He is a gooner through and through.

Image

At the age of 22, Jack can only go better, his progress has been derailed by his injuries, but he once he can overcome that, he would be a great player. He is surely the nucleus of the Arsenal team as the Boss sees him as the driving force for many years to come and alongside Ramsey and the dynamic teenagers in Zelalem and Crowley, we have a set of exciting young central midfielders that can only get better.

Image

I wish the Arsenal team success in their game against Cardiff today, but most of all I wish Jack Wilshere a very wonderful birthday.#COYG

VISIT THE FACEBOOK PAGE WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/GOONEROFSTEEL

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER @BLUEPRINTSAMMY

OR JOIN OUR MAILING LIST BY CLICKING ON THE FOLLOW BUTTON AT  THE TOP OF YOUR SCREEN

Leave a Reply

